Information:

Consumer Math Syllabus

Consumer Math Extra Credit Opportunities

 

2016 Spring Semester

Quarter 3 Begins

Friday, January 22, 2016

  • Fantasy v. Reality Presentation (Due on Thursday, January 28, 2016)

Assigned on Monday, February 1, 2016

  • Interest Worksheet

Friday, February 5, 2016

  • Interest Quiz

Assigned on Thursday, February 11, 2016

  • Poverty Reflection Questions
  • Poverty Simulation (www.playspent.org)
  • Poverty Simulation Reflection Questions

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

  • Poverty Quiz
  • Foundations in Personal Finance Pre-Test

Assigned on Thursday, February 18, 2016

  • Read Chapter 1 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 1
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question

Assigned on Monday, February 22, 2016

  • “The History of Credit in America” Worksheet

Assigned on Wednesday, February 24, 2016

  • Parent Interview

Assigned on Tuesday, March 1, 2016

  • Chapter 1 Summary / Money in Review
  • Complete “After” Column
  • Chapter 1 Budget Builder

Thursday, March 3, 2016

  • Chapter 1 Test (Introduction to Personal Finance)
  • EverFi Module Overview
  • EverFi Module #1 (Savings)

Assigned on Thursday, March 3, 2016

  • Read Chapter 2 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 2
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question

Assigned on Monday, March 7, 2016

  • “Persuasive Essay” to the American public aimed to convince them that saving for emergencies, large purchases and wealth building should be a priority regardless of one’s income level or the state of the national economy.

Assigned on Wednesday, March 9, 2016

  • “Savings By Nation” Worksheet

Assigned on Friday, March 11, 2016

  • Chapter 2 Recap & Review
  • Chapter 2 Budget Builder

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

  • Chapter 2 Test (Savings)
  • EverFi Module #2 (Banking)

Assigned on Tuesday, March 15, 2016

  • Read Chapter 3 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 3
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question

Assigned on Tuesday, March 22, 2016

  • Balancing Your Checking Account

Quarter 4 Begins

Assigned on Thursday, March 24, 2016

  • How to Manage Your Checking Account
  • The Student Budget
  • Chapter 3 Recap & Review
  • Chapter 3 Budget Builder

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

  • Chapter 3 Test (Budgeting)

Assigned on Wednesday, March 30, 2016

  • Read Chapter 4 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 4
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question

Assigned on Friday, April 1, 2016

  • The Hidden Costs of Credit Worksheet

Assigned on Thursday, April 7, 2016

  • Drive Free
  • Making the Minimum
  • True Cost of Ownership

Assigned on Monday, April 11, 2016

  • Chapter 4 Recap & Review
  • Chapter 4 Budget Builder

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

  • Chapter 4 Test (Debt)

Assigned on Wednesday, April 13, 2016

  • Read Chapter 5 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 5
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question
  • Complete EverFi Modules (Due 4/21)

Thursday/Friday, April 21, 2016

  • Real Life Project #1 (Due on April 27)
  • Real Life Project #2 (Due on April 27)

Assigned on Tuesday, May 3, 2016

  • Chapter 5 Recap & Review
  • Chapter 5 Budget Builder

Thursday, May 5, 2016

  • Chapter 5 Test (Life After High School)

Assigned on Thursday, May 5, 2016

  • Read Chapter 6 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 6
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question

Assigned on Monday, May 9, 2016

  • The Cost of Cool
  • Opportunity Cost
  • The Impact of Daily Decisions
  • Commercial Viewer

Assigned on Friday, May 13, 2016

  • Chapter 6 Budget Builder
  • Chapter 6 Recap & Review

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

  • Chapter 6 Test (Consumer Awareness)

Assigned on Tuesday, May 17, 2016

  • Read Chapter 7 – Create 5 questions or points-of-interest in Chapter 7
  • Complete “Before” Column and Introduction Journal Question